Allied Warships

Escort destroyers

The escort destroyer HMS Wilton of the Hunt (Type II) class.

All Escort destroyer classes

The list is divided by navy, then ordered by commissioned date of each class (oldest first).


Royal Navy

 Hunt (Type II) (36)1940 - 1946
 Hunt (Type I) (20)1940 - 1941
 Hunt (Type III) (27)1942 - 1943
 Hunt (Type IV) (2)1942 - 1943

Please note that we list the classes by navies that initiated/owned the class. Often vessels of certain classes were then built for other nations (or lent), those ships are not visible here but only through the navies pages or by looking into each class.

War losses: Escort destroyers



25 Feb 1941HMS Exmoor (i) (L 61)Hunt (Type I) 


20 Mar 1942HMS Heythrop (L 85)Hunt (Type II) 
24 Mar 1942HMS Southwold (L 10)Hunt (Type II) 
12 Jun 1942HMS Grove (L 77)Hunt (Type II) 
15 Jun 1942HMS Airedale (L 07)Hunt (Type III) 
16 Jun 1942ORP Kujawiak (L 72)Hunt (Type II) 
19 Aug 1942HMS Berkeley (L 17)Hunt (Type I) 
3 Dec 1942HMS Penylan (L 89)Hunt (Type III) 
11 Dec 1942HMS Blean (L 47)Hunt (Type III) 


14 Apr 1943HNoMS Eskdale (L 36)Hunt (Type III) 
6 Sep 1943HMS Puckeridge (L 108)Hunt (Type II) 
22 Oct 1943HMS Hurworth (L 28)Hunt (Type II) 
23 Oct 1943HMS Limbourne (L 57)Hunt (Type III) 
13 Nov 1943HMS Dulverton (L 63)Hunt (Type II) 
12 Dec 1943HMS Holcombe (L 56)Hunt (Type III) 
12 Dec 1943HMS Tynedale (L 96)Hunt (Type I) 


3 Aug 1944HMS Quorn (L 66)Hunt (Type I) 
14 Dec 1944HMS Aldenham (L 22)Hunt (Type III) 


23 Feb 1945FFL La CombattanteHunt (Type III) 

19 Escort destroyers lost. See all Allied Warship losses.

See all Allied Warship types

Return to the Allied Warships section